Leave a comment

Dmp Dmp Da Da Dmpdadmp

So I think I’ve mentioned that I do this really dorky thing called a cappella. Most of you normal people may associate this with the movie Pitch Perfect, and you are more or less correct. In the three years that I have been in Extreme Measures, we have recorded our first studio album, traveled to Ohio, and competed in the International Competition of Collegiate Acappella three years in a row. Most recently, our quarterfinal was last month at the University of Chicago, and we won!

This was an incredibly exciting moment for the group. We all agree that we have been steadily improving over the last few years, and our ICCA scores have really reflected that. In addition to winning the competition, we won special awards for best soloist and best arranger. We had the support of several EM alum in the audience and we frantically had to throw together something to sing as an encore. So now, we move on to semifinals in St. Louis over Northwestern’s spring break! I have never been to Missouri and I can’t wait to experience a new place with a group of people that I love.

Extreme Measures has been my family since the very beginning of my freshman year. Being in an a cappella group, while admittedly kind of a silly hobby, has provided a sense of security and comfort that has been very important during my time at Northwestern. I came to college without having a single friend or even acquaintance that I knew on campus, so I have always counted on this group to be there for me.

In case you want to watch the video of our ICCA set follow this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T64U03x2pFE

I can’t wait to take a trip with some of my very best friends and to explore a new place! I’ll be sure to share my thoughts!

Happy almost spring, betchez!

Stay hot and keep it messy,
-Ww

Leave a Reply

